• Pages

  • Categories

  • Archives

Starting a weblog, and getting traffic

Do you want to create your first blog, or have you be blogging for years and want to start a new one.  Do you know what your first post is going to be?  I know that I was having trouble deciding how to start my blog.  I read many articles on blogging, many of them talked about how to draw readers to your blog.  The problem was most of the tips were designed more for established blogs than new one ones.  In particular I had these questions:

1.  What can you do to draw your initial readers?

There are a lot of articles on how to draw readers to your blog, but they will not all work with a new blog.  I don’t think that making your first post a response to someone else’s blog would work, so you can’t link to it from blog.  I don’t think summiting your first post to social networking would work very well.

2.  How often should you post when your blog is new?

I have seen Widely differing opinions one this for blogs in general.  I agree with this post I read on Problogger that about 2 posts per week is right. However many articles I read said the more the better,  some even recommend twice a day.  Having agreed with the post on Problogger on how often a regular blog should be I still question if that is the right amount for a new blog.  If only a few people have read my first post, do I hold off so more of my first time visitors will read it first? Do I post more often to try and quicly inject content, or do I just post as normal?

3. How much traffic should i expect, and how much should I am for on a new blog?

How many hits should I get in a day? What about in two day or a week?

I could not find the answers to those questions, although I would like to discuss them. While I was looking for advice on how to start off a blog, I though of some advice of my own.

1.  Make your first post about something

Most articles I read said to describe what your blog would be about in your first post.  This is fine, but most likely it will not be very interesting.  If you do start your blog with a welcome post, I would follow it up quickly with another post.  If you can I recommend letting people know what your blog is about while covering something of interest.  I simply put a link to an about page witch describes my blog and wrote my first post as a topical one.

2.  Have and Idea for your second post before you make your first.

Good post take time to prepare, make sure you give yourself enough.   I would say this rule is twice as important if your post will include images.

3.  Pick your format Before you post.

Not that you can never change your layout, but remember every time you do your readers will need to get use to your site again. The would still be learning your site in the first place if it is new so don’t throw them off.  This goes for your theme,  and how you format your posts.

4. Don’t be afraid of using up your good posts.

You may think this is a really good topic. I want to wait until I have more visitors, or until I am more skilled.  If your worried about the former don’t be how else are you going to get those visitors than to make good post, and you can link to your old article in a new related one.  If you think you need to wait until you have more experience, remember you can correct you old post with a new post later.

5. Read 7 Mistakes for your first  week blogging by studentnyc

Most of those should be obvious, but sometimes it is the simple things that escape us.  I have tried with my first post here to give you some advice for yours, hopefully you find it helpful.  If you are wondering what my site is about, the check the about page.  It will let you know what topics I plan to cover and what you can expect in the future.

One Response

  1. Hey, thanks for the pingback! As you can probably see from my archives, I haven’t always been the most diligent about updating frequently (okay, I’ve sucked at it), but I’m back into doing it regularly myself.

    Good luck keeping things going, I’ll be checking back to see if you’re doing any better than I have.

Leave a comment